English Books

THE BOOK OF NEGROES by Lawrence Hill

 

Unknown

If you’re about to buy this book or if you already have it then you might be thinking “it’s too long, I’ll never finish it” but I promise you it is worth it. The Book of Negroes is one of the best book I have ever read in my life and I’m not even exaggerating. And it might be a bit long but it’s easy to read and I 100% recommend it to everyone of you guys.

“Have you seen the moon slide behind clouds? People started slipping away like that. But unlike the moon, they never came back.” Aminata Diallo

As you may have guessed from the title, the story is about a little girl named Aminata Diallo, soon to be called Meena D, who was captured from her village in West Africa, brought into the US, and made into a slave.

The book is about how she survived, and went through her life as a slave, how she tries to be free and works her way through all kind of phases that even in your wildest dream you cannot imagine.

Just a little spoiler, now of course there’s a love story, and you will laugh, smile and cry, at their story. I don’t think I would have continued if it wasn’t for the part where she falls in love with xxx (no I won’t mention his or her name) because that added more sparkles in the story. Two reasons that also got me to start this book:

  • I read Roots by Alex Haley (I will write a review as well but I just need to re read it to remember) so at first I knew what I was getting myself into, I also watched 12 Years a Slave, Django unchained, so yes I am a big fan of slavery books and movies.
  • And also because Aminata Diallo is west African and I am as well, I even know the places she was describing such as Ségou and Tombouctou and the small words she says in her native language which I also understand.

Book of Negroes made me cry, made me laugh, made me wonder and as people say, this book is bomb.

Leave a Reply

